Physical Department Circular (undated)
- Physical Department Circular (undated)
This Physical Department Circular, published in sometime between 1920 and 1926 by the International YMCA College, now Springfield College, explains the importance of physical training and the importance of this training during the industrial age. The circular includes photographs of individuals that have been pioneers in the physical education world, and leaders in amateur sports. It also includes photographs of training school directors in public schools, secondary schools, christian associations, and colleges and universities. The circular also discusses the general course requirements and the technical courses, such as anatomy, physiology, and hygiene that must be taken as a basis. It then goes on to discuss the time required for training, the equipment available to students, the type of men that are desired as students at the school, the expenses, the entrance requirements, and a brief overview of the dormitory life. It includes team photographs from various sports teams, photogra
- Springfield College
- McCurdy, J. H. (James Huff), 1866-1940
- Springfield College Archives and Special Collections
- Collection (local):
College Archives Digital Collections
Alumni Hall Records
International Young Men's Christian Association College
Springfield College--Athletic Fields
McCurdy, J. H. (James Huff), 1866-1940
Naismith, James, 1861-1939
Stagg, Amos Alonzo, 1862-1965
Massachusetts > Hampden (county) > Springfield
- 55 Pages
- Link to Item:
Text and images are owned, held, or licensed by Springfield College and are available for personal, non-commercial, and educational use, provided that ownership is properly cited. A credit line is required and should read: Courtesy of Springfield College, Babson Library, Archives and Special Collections. Any commercial use without written permission from Springfield College is strictly prohibited. Other individuals or entities other than, and in addition to, Springfield College may also own copyrights and other propriety rights. The publishing, exhibiting, or broadcasting party assumes all responsibility for clearing reproduction rights and for any infringement of United States copyright law.
Contact host institution for more information.
The Alumni Hall time capsule was placed in the cornerstone of Alumni Hall on September 22, 1926. The time capsule was removed from the cornerstone during renovations conducted in 2015. The time capsule was officially opened on June 10, 2017 during reunion weekend.