Digital Commonwealth

Aerial View of Judd Gymnasia in winter

Item Information

Title:
Aerial View of Judd Gymnasia in winter
Description:
An aerial image of the east side of Judd Gymnasia taken during the winter. Much of the building is hidden behind snow covered trees. However the turret above the east gymnasium is clearly visible.
Date:
[1894?–1926?]
Format:
Photographs
Location:
Springfield College Archives and Special Collections
Collection (local):
College Archives Digital Collections
Series:
Judd Gymnasia Records
Subjects:
International Young Men's Christian Association College
International Young Men's Christian Association Training School (Springfield, Mass.)
Judd Gymnasia
Springfield College
Springfield College--Buildings
Springfield (Mass.)
Aerial photographs
Aerial views
Snow
Winter
Places:
MassachusettsHampden (county)Springfield
Link to Item:
Terms of Use:
Text and images are owned, held, or licensed by Springfield College and are available for personal, non-commercial, and educational use, provided that ownership is properly cited. A credit line is required and should read: Courtesy of Springfield College, Babson Library, Archives and Special Collections. Any commercial use without written permission from Springfield College is strictly prohibited. Other individuals or entities other than, and in addition to, Springfield College may also own copyrights and other propriety rights. The publishing, exhibiting, or broadcasting party assumes all responsibility for clearing reproduction rights and for any infringement of United States copyright law.
Contact host institution for more information.
Publisher:
Springfield College
Notes:
Judd Gymnasia was the first building erected on the new land purchased for the YMCA Training School, now Springfield College, along Massasoit Lake in Springfield, Massachusetts. Morrissey and Shea’s Corporation completed construction on the building in September of 1894 and it was formally opened on October 26, 1894. The original gymnasium, known today as East Gymnasium, was where James Naismith taught classes and coached the school’s basketball team however it is not the gymnasium where basketball was invented. In 1910, trustees authorized the addition of a second gymnasium and swimming pool. The top two floors of the tower that sits between the “east” and “west” gymnasiums was not completed until June of 1926. The entire building was renovated in 2010, with occupancy beginning in September of 2010. A formal Ribbon Cutting Ceremony to open Judd Gymnasia was held on October 13, 2010. Another ceremony was held on May 19, 2011 as a Dedication of the Stitzer YMCA Center that makes up a part of the facilities in the building, including the use of the East Gymnasium as a conference center for the YMCA and the Office of YMCA Relations and the YMCA Hall of Fame in the Springfield College History Museum.
It is difficult to date this image as much of the building is hidden by trees making it hard to decipher any part of the building aside from the turret attached to east gymnasium; Series were added to this collection, changing the file name. File names of the uploaded files contain the old name;
Identifier:
rg127-01-02-03-002
rg127-02-03-002